County Official of the Year Award

Each year the Nebraska Association of County Officials bestows awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves as public officials. The County Official of the Year Award is the highest honor an elected or appointed county official can receive.


County Official of the Year Recipients

Year Recipient, County, Office Year Recipient, County, Office
    2020 Keith Buschow
Webster County Commissioner
2019 Barb Swanson
Polk County Treasurer
2018 Jean Sidwell
Buffalo County Treasurer
2017 Travis Hobbs
Brown County Clerk
2016 Sherry Schweitzer
Seward County Clerk
2015 Neil Miller
Buffalo County Sheriff
2014 Patrick Duncan
Franklin County Attorney
2013 Don Thomas
Lancaster County Engineer
2012 David Walton
Franklin County Supervisor
2011 Deb Houghtaling
Sarpy County Clerk
2010 Joan Ackland
Fillmore County Assessor
2009 Ruth Jackson
Franklin County Assessor
2008 Richard Wassinger
Cass County Treasurer
2007 Nancy Scheer
Madison County Clerk
2006 Pat Osterbuhr
Kearney County Clerk
2005 Pam Miller
Dakota County Commissioner
2004 Henry R "Hank" Thieman
Boone County Commissioner
2003 Fred Mytty
Dodge County Clerk
2002 Lorraine Dexter
Merrick County Assessor
2001 Bette Tatman
Lincoln County Register of Deeds
2000 Janet Hajny
Clay County Clerk
1999 Bob Zoucha
Boone County Clerk
1998 Irene Abernathy
Hall County Supervisor
1997 Richard Anderson
Pierce County Treasurer
1996 Vera Dulaney
Scotts Bluff County Clerk
1995 H. Nadine Heath
Lincoln County Clerk
1994 Becky Richter
Hamilton County Clerk
1993 Charlene Marchand
Sarpy County District Court Clerk
1992 Mary Jo Ellis
Scotts Bluff County Register of Deeds
1991 Paul M. Kemling
Hamilton County Commissioner
1990 Leslie Stull
Box Butte County Commissioner
1989 Kermit O. Pearson
Dawson County Treasurer
1988 Cora Mahoney
Logan County Clerk
1987 Anita Hawes
Adams County Clerk
1986 Janet Edwards
Howard County Assessor
1985 Charles Egr
Saunders County Clerk
1984 JoAnn Rohrs
Nemaha County Clerk
1983 Ruby Hays
Furnas County Assessor
1982 Robert Downer
Banner County Clerk
1981 Dale Frizzel
Polk County Clerk
1980 Floyd Vrtiska
Pawnee County Commissioner
1979 Willard Foster
Fillmore County Clerk